How to stop Instagram from saving posts to camera roll? (2022)

stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll

Wondering how to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll?

Yes, you are at the right place to learn about ways to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll.

Are you a regular Instagram user? Then your Instagram photos and videos are most likely filling up your camera roll and phone memory.

Many iPhone/Android users are experiencing problems with Instagram’s auto-saving features due to the automatically saving posts to the camera roll. It is running out of storage space.

Fortunately, you can stop your Instagram photos and videos from being saved to your camera roll.

To disable the auto-saving of pictures and videos on Instagram to the camera roll, simply open your Instagram app and go to your profile. Then tap the three lines in the top-right corner of your Instagram profile. Then tap on Settings in the options. Quickly search for “Original Posts.” Here, disable the toggles for “Save Posted Photos” and “Save Posted Videos.”

In this guide, we will cover the following topics.

How to Stop Instagram From Saving Posts to the Camera Roll on iPhone/Android?

How to download Instagram photos through a copy URL?

How do I stop Instagram from saving my stories?

How do you automatically save photos or videos of other users’ from Instagram to your camera roll?

We will discuss each of these in detail below.

How to Stop Instagram From Saving Posts to the Camera Roll on iPhone/Android?

In this guide, we are going to look at the different methods to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll.

1. Toggle Off Save Original Photos On Android/iPhone

2. Disable Auto-Saving Pictures on Instagram for iPhone

3. Clear History On Instagram

We will discuss each of these in detail below.

1. Toggle Off Save Original Photos On Android/iPhone

Here, we will discuss the process to toggle off saving original photos on Android and iPhone.

Toggle Off Save Original Photos on Android

Follow the below steps to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll by toggling off the saved original photos on Android.

Log in to Instagram.

Tap on the “Profile” icon with your profile picture in the lower-right corner. 

Profile icon with your profile picture

Now, you land on your own profile on Instagram.

In the top right corner, tap the three horizontal lines in the profile.

Profile Instagram posts

From there, click on “Settings”.

Settings

Then navigate to “Account”.

Accounts

Scroll down and tap the “Original Post”.

Original Post

Note: You can also quickly search for the “Original Post” in the search field in the settings. However, we can easily access it without navigating to the “Account” section.

Search Original Post on Instagram

Here, disable the toggles for “Save Posted Photos” and “Save Posted Videos.”

Disable Toggles on Instagram

By doing it this way, you can stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll.

Toggle Off Save Original Photos on iPhone

Follow the below steps to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll by toggling off the saved original photos on your iPhone.

Log in to Instagram.

Tap on the “Profile” icon with your profile picture in the lower-right corner. 

Now, you land on your own profile on iPhone Instagram.

In the top right corner, tap the three horizontal lines in the profile.

From there, click on “Settings”.

Then navigate to “Account”.

Settings and accounts on Instagram

Scroll down and tap the “Original Post”.

Note: You can also quickly search for the “Original Post” in the search field in the settings. However, we can easily access it without navigating to the “Account” section.

Auto-save option on Instagram

Here, disable the toggles for “Save Posted Photos” and “Save Posted Videos.”

Disable toggles on Instagram

By doing it this way, you can stop Instagram from saving posts to your iPhone camera roll.

2. Disable Auto-Saving Pictures on Instagram for iPhone

Follow the below steps to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll by disabling auto-saving pictures on Instagram for iPhone.

Go to the iPhone’s General Settings.

Then select the Instagram app.

Here, tap on Photos.

You may choose what you want to be saved on your phone through the interface.

Select the “Never” option.

Disable photo auto-save

If you choose “Never,” Instagram will be unable to read and write from your camera roll. As a result, the application will no longer store posted photos on your camera roll. This is your choice if you use the Instagram app’s camera but don’t want to store any photos.

By doing it this way, you can stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll on the iPhone.

3. Clear History on Instagram

Follow the below steps to clear history on Instagram.

Log in to Instagram.

Tap on the “Profile” icon with your profile picture in the lower-right corner. 

Now, you land on your own profile on Instagram.

In the top right corner, tap the three horizontal lines in the profile.

From there, click on “Settings”.

Scroll down and tap on “Clear History“.

This will delete all of the pictures you’ve posted from your account.

By doing it this way, you can stop Instagram from auto-saving old and newly uploaded posts to your camera roll.

How to download Instagram photos through a copy URL?

Follow the below steps to download Instagram photos through a copy URL.

Log in to Instagram.

Find the photo you want to save.

Tap the “” at the top corner of the post.

Tap on “Copy Link”.

Open your browser, hold and press “Paste and Go”.

Press and hold the photo, then select “Copy.”

Open the Notes app. In a new note, press and hold your screen. Select “Paste.”

Tap the share icon and select “Save Image”.

How do I stop Instagram from saving my stories?

Follow the below steps to stop Instagram from saving stories.

To stop Instagram from saving your stories:

Log in to Instagram.

Tap on the “Profile” icon with your profile picture in the lower-right corner.

Now, you land on your own profile on Instagram.

In the top right corner, tap the three horizontal lines in the profile.

From there, click on “Settings”.

Here, select “Story Settings.”

From there, untick or disable the toggle that says “Save Story.”

How do you automatically save photos or videos of other users’ from Instagram to your camera roll?

There is no one definitive way to do this. Some people use third-party apps, while others use manual workarounds. Here are a few methods that have been suggested:

Use an app like InstaSave or InstaLoader to automatically save photos from Instagram to your camera roll.

Use a service like IFTTT to create a recipe that will automatically save photos from Instagram to your camera roll.

FAQs

Why is Instagram saving my photos after posting?

When you post an Instagram photo, the app copies the image and saves it to your phone as a backup, but the original image is still stored on Instagram’s servers.

Why do my Instagram stories Save to my camera roll?

Instagram stories are stored in your camera roll, so you can share them on social media sites like Facebook and Twitter. You may also store them in the photo gallery on your phone for later use.

How do you save an Instagram photo to your camera roll?

To save an Instagram photo to your camera roll, open the photo and then tap the three dots in the top right corner. Select “Save Photo.”

Do Instagram users know if you save a post?

Instagram does not send notifications to users if you save their posts. Only you can see the posts you’ve saved. When you save someone’s post, they’re not able to understand that you’ve saved it.

Wrapping Up

Hope you got an idea about how to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll.

In this guide, we have looked at various methods to fix the Instagram that prevents posts from saving to your camera roll.

Kindly let us know if you have any queries.