Home » Social Media » How to separate business page from personal account on Facebook? (2022)

How to separate business page from personal account on Facebook? (2022)

separate business page from personal account on Facebook
llustration by Thierry Fousse from Ouch!

Wondering how to separate your business page from your personal account on Facebook? 

Yes, you are at the right place to learn about how to remove your account as a page owner in the Facebook business manager.

Can I separate my business page from my personal account on Facebook?

Yes, this guide will help you to separate your personal Facebook page from your business page.

Without an admin, you can’t run a Facebook business page. You should assign a new admin to your business page before you split your personal and business Facebook pages. Otherwise, you won’t be able to disconnect your personal Facebook page from your business page.

In this guide, we are going to discuss the following topics.

How to separate business page from personal account on Facebook?

What happens to my business page if I deactivate Facebook?

Can my Facebook friends see my business page?

Can I set up Facebook business page without personal profile?

How can I deactivate my personal Facebook account without deactivating my business pages?

How to separate business page from personal account on Facebook?

Follow the below steps to remove your account as a page owner in Facebook business manager:

Login to the “Facebook”.

Select the “Pages” from the home. 

Select pages to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Now you will land on your “Business Page”

There, you can see the “Manage Page” in the top left-hand corner of your business page.

Then click on the “Settings” from the manage page

Select FB Settings to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

You’ll now be on “Page Settings” of your business page.

From the page settings, you have to select “Page Roles”.

Select Page Roles to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

In the page roles division, you have two sections named Assign a new Page role and Existing Page roles.

As your aim is to remove your personal Facebook account from your business page as a Page Owner, your first priority is to transfer the admin role to another person on Facebook.

To achieve that, click on “Assign a new page role”.

sections of page roles to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Enter the name or email address of the person you would like to add as an admin.

Select “Admin” option from the dropdown list.

Assign new page role to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Click on “Add” button.

Click on “Save” and enter your password to confirm changes.

confirmation password to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Note: You can disconnect your personal account from your business page only once the new allocated admin accepts the invitation.

Before the new admin accepts the invitation, you can also cancel it by clicking on “Cancel invitation“. It will remain pending until the new administrator accepts the invitation.

cancel invitation to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Return to the “Page Settings“.

Now you can remove your personal account as an administrator by updating “Existing Page roles”.

Click on “Edit”.

existing page role to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Click on the “Remove” button down to your own name.

Confirm that you want to remove your ownership from the business page.

remove page to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Then re-enter the password. 

Click on “Save”

You are no longer an admin of this page and it has been transferred to the new admin. 

What happens to my business page if I deactivate Facebook?

Unless another Facebook user is registered as an administrator on the page, when you deactivate your Facebook profile, it also unpublishes your business page. 

Any active links to your profile from tags in photographs and posts are also deactivated.

Your business page is automatically hidden from all other users including friends of your Facebook when you deactivate it. 

No one can find you or look at your profile. No one knows your account has changed in any manner unless someone tries to access/view it.

Note: In case you change your mind, then Facebook will give you only 14 days to restore the page you deleted.

Can my Facebook friends see my business page?

Business pages don’t require your permission for people to view them. Anyone can see your page, if it is public.

People can see your business posts in their NewsFeed.

Can I set up Facebook business page without personal profile?

No, you cannot create a business page without first connecting it to a personal profile on Facebook. Any business page needs an administrator, which is a person who manages the pages.

How can I deactivate my personal Facebook account without deactivating my business pages?

You can’t remove your Facebook account without also deleting your business page. 

In order to delete your Facebook account, you must provide the admin role of the Facebook business page to someone else. You can also create another Facebook account to take up the admin role.

Your personal Facebook account can then be deactivated.

We have already discussed above how to transfer business page ownership to another person on Facebook. Once you have transferred ownership of your business page to another person, follow the below steps to remove your Facebook account.

Login to the Facebook.

Click on the down arrow button on the top right side.

profile for deletion FB to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Then scroll down to “Settings & privacy”.

Click on “Settings”.

Click on “Your Facebook information”.

FB Settings to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Then click on “Deactivation and deletion”.

Deletion and deactivation to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Here you can click on the “Delete Account” and click on “continue to account deactivation”.

FB Deletion to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Then click on the “Delete account” button.

Deletion account to separate business page from personal account on Facebook

Confirm that you want to delete your Facebook account by entering the password and continue.

This is the only way you can deactivate personal Facebook account without deactivating business pages.

Wrapping Up

The methods mentioned above can solve the following queries as well.

  • How do I hide my personal Facebook page from my business page?
  • How to Transfer Page Ownership in the Facebook Business Manager?
  • Can I separate my business page from my personal account on Facebook?
  • How Do I Remove My Account as a Page Owner in Facebook Business Manager?
  • How do I disconnect my personal Facebook page from my business page?
  • How do I unlink my personal and business Facebook?
  • How do I remove myself as a page owner on Facebook?
  • How do I change the owner of a Business Manager?
  • How do I assign or change a Page Owner for my Facebook Business Manager?
  • How to Transfer Facebook Page Ownership?
  • How do I unlink a Facebook business page from my profile?
  • How To Keep Your Business Page Separate from Your Personal Facebook Account?

Hope you get an idea about how to remove your account as a page owner in the Facebook business manager. Kindly let us know if you have any queries.