Wondering how to delete Google Ads account.
Yes, you are at the right place to learn about how to delete Google Ads accounts.
When users search for relevant keywords, Google Ads allow you to advertise and promote your products and services. If done properly, it has the ability to boost leads and revenues.
Simply follow these steps to delete your Google Ads account. First, sign in to your Google Ads account, then select the Setup menu from tools and settings, then click on preferences, then go to the Account Status section and click on “Cancel my account“.
In this guide, we are going to look at the following topics regarding the deletion of Google Ads account:
We will discuss each of these in detail below.
Can I delete my Google Ads account?
Yes, you can delete your Google Ads account. It’s quite simple to delete your Google Ads account. However, keep in mind that the information you delete is only marked as deleted, not destroyed.
You will no longer be able to use or view your account, and neither will other regular users. However, the majority of your account’s data will be retained for a very long period.
Moreover, please be aware that canceling an account in order to delete improper activities will not work.
Even if you delete your account, data can still be disclosed to law enforcement under the court order.
How can I delete my Google Ads account?
Please follow the below steps to delete your Google Ads account:
Sign in to your Google Ads account.
Click on the TOOLS AND SETTINGS from the top right corner of your page.
Click on the Setup menu option from the list.
Then select Preferences.
Go to the Account Status section. Probably it shows Active.
In the “Account status” section, click “Cancel My Account.”
Review the information on the Cancel account page.
Confirm the deletion of your Google Ads account by clicking the “Cancel Account“.
When you receive your Google Ads account deletion/cancellation email, click on the link to complete the cancellation process.
How does the deletion of your Google Ads account work?
If you want to delete your account, keep in mind that you will be responsible for all pending charges.
If there is any money remaining in your account, they will refund it to your payment method within 4 weeks.
You can still access the data in your Google Ads account after you cancel by signing in to Google Ads.
You may reactivate your account at any point if you wish to use Google Ads again in the future.
Note: If your Google Ads account has been inactive for more than 15 months (meaning no money has been spent in that period), your Google Ads account will be automatically deleted.
What are the requirements for deleting your Google Ads account?
Please find the below requirements for deleting your Google Ads account:
You’ll need the following things to cancel your account:
- Your account’s administrative access
- Settle all your bills.
Keep the following things in mind, if you have a manager account and need to delete one of your managed accounts:
- Your manager account will require administrative access.
- The client account you want to deactivate must be owned by your manager account.
What happens after my Google Ads account is deleted?
The following are the consequences you may face after deleting your Google Ads account:
- All remarketing lists that are owned by the deleted Google Ads account, including Customer Match, will be changed to “Closed,” preventing new users from being added to these lists.
In about a month after your account is deleted, the following will happen in an attempt to delete your data:
- The membership period of any remarketing lists owned by the deleted account, including Customer Match, will be adjusted to one day. All users will be removed from these lists if you take this action.
- Lists shared with other accounts will no longer be functional for other accounts after the users are removed.
- If your deleted account has any refundable credit, you will get a refund within 4-12 weeks.
What are the problems commonly faced while deleting your Google Ads account?
The following are the problems people most commonly face during the cancellation or deletion of their Google Ads account:
- You may not be able to cancel or delete your account if you don’t see the option to do so.
- If you want to delete your account because of your administrative access issue or if you want to leave the organization,
Then collect your Customer ID, sign-in email address, and account billing information from the organization and contact Google Ads support.
What are the things you should keep in mind before deleting your Google Ads account?
With the following exceptions, deleting your Google Ads account has the same impact as suspending your campaigns:
When you delete your account, you can get a refund for any unused account balance, except amounts from promotional offers.
If you cancel your account, you’ll have to reactivate your account first, if you may use it again in the future.
If you don’t have any unused funds in your account, you might want to consider pausing your campaigns rather than deleting your Google Ads account.
If you’re deleting your account because you’re unhappy with how your campaigns are performing, you might want to look into some optimization tips that could help.
Note: You may also delete accounts that are still being set up in the Account selector by clicking the delete symbol next to them.
Hope you have got an idea about how to delete your Google Ads account.
In this guide, we have looked at different user queries related to the deletion of the Google Ads account, such as how to delete a Google Ads account; problems commonly faced after deleting an account; requirements and things to keep in mind before deleting a Google Ads account, etc.
Kindly let us know if you have any queries.