|Time Required||30 minutes|
First of all, you need to understand that there is no direct way to find out if someone declined your invitation or not.
This is because LinkedIn doesn’t send notifications to you when someone declined your invitation.
LinkedIn also doesn’t mention it anywhere in your profile.
When you visit the profile of the person who declined your request, you will only see the connection request as “Pending“.
What does LinkedIn pending invitation mean?
However, LinkedIn keeps the invitation as “Pending” in many cases.
An invitation is pending until:
- It expires (If you sent the invitation by clicking the CONNECT button, it lasts for 6 months), or
- You withdraw the invitation
- If the other person declines it.
So, it is difficult to understand whether the request is pending because the other person has declined it or the other person has ignored it.
How to know if someone declined your LinkedIn invitation?
However, you can take an educated guess to identify whether the other person has declined your invitation or not.
This can be done in 2 steps.
- Find out who all have not accepted your invitation till now
- Find out whether they have visited your profile after an invitation is being sent
If a person has visited your profile after a LinkedIn connection request and he has not accepted it till now, then there is a high chance that your LinkedIn invitation is being declined or ignored by the person.
How to see your LinkedIn invitations sent?
Follow the below steps to find out people who have not accepted your LinkedIn request till now.
Through LinkedIn Mobile App
Open LinkedIn mobile App.
Click on My Network.
Click on Invitations.
Click on Sent.
Through browser on Desktop or laptop.
Login to LinkedIn.
Click on My Network.
Click on See All.
Click on Sent.
Now you can see the list of people who have not accepted your invitation till now.
Only the invitations sent in the last 6 months are listed there.
This is because invitations sent to LinkedIn members expire after six months.
How to see who viewed your LinkedIn profile?
Follow the below steps to find out people who have visited your profile after an invitation is being sent.
Open LinkedIn mobile app.
Click on Notifications.
Now you can see the list of people who visited your profile.
If you are using the basic LinkedIn account, you’ll see the five most recent viewers in the last 90 days.
So, if you have sent a connection request recently, you have to check LinkedIn on a constant basis to check whether the person has viewed your profile or not.
If you use LinkedIn premium, you can see the complete list of people who have visited your profile.
You’ll see the entire list of viewers from the past 90 days, if you have at least one viewer in the past 90 days, you’ll also see the viewer trends and insights.
How do I know if someone declined my LinkedIn invitation?
Now you know information about people to whom you have sent a LinkedIn connection request and have visited your profile.
If the person who has visited your profile has not yet approved the connection request then you can safely assume that the person has either declined the request or ignored it.
We will show it in the form of an example.
1. LinkedIn Connection Request Sent – X, Y, and Z
2. LinkedIn Connection Request Accepted – X
3. Request Pending – Y and Z
4. Viewed your profile – Y
In this case, it means that Y has chosen not to accept your request.
Z might have either ignored your request or declined it.
For the time being, it is impossible to find the status of Z.
If someone declines my LinkedIn request can I request again?
Yes. You can do so again. Invitations sent to LinkedIn members expire after six months.
Before the invitation expires, LinkedIn will send two reminders to your recipient letting them know they haven’t yet responded.
Once member archives or replies to the invitation, the reminders stop.
If an invitation does expire, it will no longer be displayed as a pending invitation.
You can then send a new invitation to that same person. If you want to prevent any additional reminders from being sent, you can withdraw the invitation.
LinkedIn doesn’t send notifications to other members when you declined their invitation.
When you delete the LinkedIn request of a person, then their request stops appearing in your invitation list. Also, if the other person chooses to visit your profile, they get to see the Connection Request as Pending.
In this guide, we have taken an educated guess to identify whether a person has declined your LinkedIn Invitation or not.
Kindly let us know if you have any queries.