How to block someone on Linkedin without visiting their profile? (2022)

How to block someone on Linkedin without visiting their profile? (2022)
Illustration by Murat Kalkavan from Ouch!

Linkedin is the best platform for professional connections with known and unknown people as well as companies. 

Since it is all about connections, we would accept people that we may don’t even know. Many of these connections with known and unknown people don’t cause any issues as everyone is related professionally and not personally.

If there are any issues, then it is better to block that particular person whoever that be. 

When you block a person on LinkedIn, then

  • You won’t be able to see the posts shared by them.
  • You can’t send any messages neither they can .
  • They won’t be able to see any private posts that you shared nor can you.
  • You can’t have any “connection” with them if you were “connected” earlier.
  • They won’t get anything that subjects you. 
  • They won’t be suggested to you by the platform after you blocked them.

How to block someone on Linkedin without visiting their profile ?

First of all, it is important to understand that, to block someone on LinkedIn you need to visit their profile. But the good thing is that there are ways in which you can do it without them knowing that you have visited their profile.

To block someone on LinkedIn without them knowing that you have visited their profile you first need to make your settings to private. Once you have made your account private then you can block a person.

So, the 2 important steps are as follows.

Make your LinkedIn account private.

Block the person you want to block.

We will discuss this in detail below.

How to make your LinkedIn account private?

LinkedIn offers a private mode for its users. By browsing in private mode, it will become difficult for others to know that you have visited their profile. This is because only limited information or no information about you will be shared with the member whose profile you have viewed.

So, others won’t be able to know about your existence.

Follow the below steps to make your LinkedIn account private.

Open “Linkedin” app

Click on the profile photo on the top of the page when you open through your mobile phone.

Select “Settings” in the Linkedin App

Make Linkedin private to block someone on linkedin without visiting their profile

Select “Visibilty”. 

Linkedin private visibility mode view linkedin anonymously to block someone on linkedin without visiting their profile

You can now control the information you want to share with others. Click on “Profile viewing options”

Linkedin private visibility mode for story public discovery anonymously Make Linkedin private to block someone on linkedin without without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Click on Private Mode.

Linkedin private mode view profile anonymously to block someone on linkedin without without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Go back to the previous page

You can now proceed with updating the visibility of your LinkedIn activity by turning of Story Viewing options, Edit your public profile etc..

If you are accessing LinkedIn through a laptop or desktop, you can follow the below procedure to make your Linkedin account private.

Visit Linkedin

When the profile opens, you can see the “Me” option near Notifications on the top of the screen.

view linkedin profile anonymously Make Linkedin private to block someone on linkedin without without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Click the “Me” option, select the “Settings & Privacy” from that. 

Linkedin desktop settings and privacy how to view linkedin profile in private mode Make Linkedin private to block someone on linkedin without without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Select “Visibilty”

view linkedin profile anonymously private mode Make Linkedin private to block someone on linkedin without without them knowing that you have visited their profile

You can now control the information you want to share with others. Click on “Profile viewing options”

Click on Private Mode.

anonymous linkedin profile Make Linkedin private to block someone on linkedin without without them knowing that you have visited their profile

How to block someone on LinkedIn?

When you block someone on LinkedIn.

  • You will no longer be connected (if you were before), or have endorsements and recommendations from this person.
  • You will also no longer see any suggestions to interact with each other.

Follow the below steps to block someone on the LinkedIn app.

Open the Linkedin app

Go to the profile of the person you want to block. 

Click on the “…” option seen next to Message

block someone on linkedin without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Click on “Report or Block”. 

block someone on linkedin without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Click on “Block”.

block on linkedin without them knowing that you have visited their profile

Click on “Block”.

block someone on linkedin without them knowing that you have visited their profile

If you are accessing LinkedIn through a laptop or desktop, follow the below steps to block someone on LinkedIn.

Login to Linkedin website. 

Go to the profile of the person you want to block. 

Click on the “More” option. 

How to block someone on LinkedIn?

Click on “Report / Block” . 

Click on “Block”

Block someone on LinkedIn without visiting their profile? (2022)

Click on “Block”.

Block someone on LinkedIn without visiting their profile

Wrapping Up

The above steps can be used if you have the below queries as well.

  • Can you block someone on LinkedIn without viewing their profile?
  • When you block someone on LinkedIn can they see you viewed their profile?
  • Can I hide my profile from someone on LinkedIn?
  • How to stop someone looking at your linkedin profile?
  • How to restrict someone on linkedin?
  • How do I disconnect from someone on LinkedIn without them knowing?
  • How do you block someone from LinkedIn?
  • Will someone know if I block them?
  • How do I stop LinkedIn from showing I viewed the profile?

Well, in this article, we have shown you how to block someone on LinkedIn without them knowing. We hope you find it useful. Kindly let us know if you have any queries.